Do what you love and let it kill you.

This bloke James Rhodes wrote an article in the Guardian about how no matter what, you should ‘find what you love and let it kill you’.

James Rhodes wasn’t born a talented concert pianist, he made himself learn his craft as that’s what he ultimately wanted to do. You read so many of those books and articles about escaping your mundane job to really do what you want to do etc but this one really had a sense of confident abandon and a head screwed on.

I had a think about what I love that I would do until it killed me and I could only think of two things i’d want to do that I would consider going to an early grave for. I cut out Fireman (I’m too short and smoke too much), Lion Tamer (Too scared of lions), Bounty Hunter (The hours are too long), and Jewel Thief (I’m too stupid). However music would really be my first choice. The second thing i’d probably do until it killed me would be self-pleasuring. Of course the latter doesn’t really neccessitate training or craft, nor would it kill you unless you were into some pretty gnarly stuff. Lets be honest, we’re all friends here.

Anyways, here it is:

http://www.guardian.co.uk/music/musicblog/2013/apr/26/james-rhodes-blog-find-what-you-love

Much love,

T

Leave a Reply

