Uke.

Happy Easter and that.

I may be alone here but I have a strong urge now and again to hear ukelele. Mainly because in all art forms I am a minimalist. By that, I don’t mean I’m shit, I just love art and music forms in their rawest and purest form even on the twangiest instrument in the world. By that I don’t mean I like folk either. I simply mean arrangements that use the space as an instrument captivate me more than a messy canvas or a song that has twenty tracks on it.

So today I’m celebrating the Ukelele in all it’s irritating glory.

Amongst the enormous amount of shit ukelele covers on Youtube varying between some guy in his pants playing Paint It Black, some bird in her pants playing Third Eye Blind and some Australian dude in no pants singing Joy Division I came across the very talented TUR Orchestra. They did a cover of Red Hot Chili Pepper’s Dosed. It’s very pretty.

Did you enjoy that? I thought not, but I did so suck it.

Much love,

T x

Leave a Reply

